2013 Courage in Journalism Awards for International Women Journalists in USA

If you have questions about this aid arises, please visit the official source and ask your questions directly to the center.

The International Women’s Media Foundation offers Courage in Journalism Awards for women journalists in USA . Candidates should be full-time, part-time or freelance women working in print, broadcast or online media in any country. Nominations may be submitted in English, French, Spanish or Russian. Complete applications should be sent online before March 1, 2013.. It takes courage to report the news in many parts of the world. Each year, the International Women’s Media Foundation honors that courage and promotes the importance of a free press with its Courage in Journalism Awards, the only international awards that recognize the bravery of women journalists. Created in 1990, the IWMF’s Courage in Journalism Awards honor the courage of international women journalists who show extraordinary strength of character and integrity while reporting the news under difficult and dangerous circumstances. The Courage Awards highlight the importance of freedom of the press and the bravery required in many parts of the world to report the news. Recipients of the Courage in Journalism Awards risk their lives to report the news. Braving political pressure, war, violence and often threats to their families and themselves, they unearth corruption and human rights abuses and give voice to the victims of war and other atrocities.The Courage in Journalism Awards help to turn a spotlight on the work of brave, uncompromising journalists. They also help turn a harsh light on the countries and conflicts in which those journalists work. In calling attention to both the world’s conflicts and the women who cover them.. Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards can be full-time, part-time or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers.
The research areas of this scholarship are:  The IWMF’s mission is to strengthen the role of women in the news media worldwide as means to further freedom of the press.
Who can apply to this scholarship?
· Candidates must currently be full
· time, part
· time or freelance women journalists working in print, broadcast or online media in any country.
· Candidates employed by organizations whose main objective is not journalism will not be considered for this award.
Benefits of the scholarship: IWMF offers a mantle of protection to the awardees and encourages all journalists working in difficult and challenging circumstances. The IWMF is not a funding organization and does not give grants
More information about the fellowship:
Duration: The award is given each year.
Number of scholarships: Not provided

Related scholarships